My D-I-V-O-R-C-E becomes final today

Aside from having that song stuck in my head, today should be a good day, right?

After months and months of delays, process servers and rushed trips to court my marriage is finally, irreversibly and officially over.  I’m once again a free woman, and yet strangely I don’t feel like celebrating.

I really thought I’d be happy today.  I thought that closing this chapter would bring some peace to my life.  Instead it seems to have stirred up emotions I thought I had reconciled long ago.

So tonight, I am going to open an expensive bottle of wine.  I’m going to sift through the remaining possessions I have that remind me of my now ex-husband, and I’m going to think about the good times and the bad.

Then I’m going to get out my marriage certificate, light a match, and watch that fucker burn.

After that I will close this chapter once and for all, and turn a new page.  Tomorrow I will wake up and breathe in deep the scent of a fresh day and a new start.

My past has made me the person I am today, and I’m going to try my best to look forward to tomorrow.

 

5 responses to “My D-I-V-O-R-C-E becomes final today

Leave a Reply

