Have you ever felt like someone is holding a pillow over your brain?

Look, it’s not that I forgot I HAD a blog…

I knew it was here, sitting in the corner of the internet…. feeling neglected.  Kind of like my fingernails, aside from the sitting part.  We all know fingernails don’t sit.

But, at the moment, I feel like someone is holding a pillow over my brain.

Insomnia.  That’s what they call it when you can’t sleep properly for more than five months and your eyes feel like sandpaper?  And you have trouble stringing words together to form some kind of coherent sentence?

It started in October last year, when I had a whole lot of stuff going on – husband leaving, financial and job stress… My brain, a cesspool of confused thoughts and emotions, not letting my poor body get any rest. 

It’s been 5 months.  I have dealt with stuff.  My mind has settled.  So why won’t sleep come?

Maybe I am still adjusting.  Maybe, subconsciously, I am not done dealing with things.

Or perhaps I just drink too much coffee.

So, I am asking you, dear internet, that keeps me company in the wee hours of the morning – what ways to you find to help you sleep?

One response to “Have you ever felt like someone is holding a pillow over your brain?

  • Jules

    I had a month of panic attacks in the middle of the night about two years ago. Ambien. Ambien helped. But lately I’ve just had stress induced tossing and turning. I might need to Ambien again. No sleep sucks. I hope it gets better for you.

Leave a Reply

